Upland Bird Hunting

Submit a Review
Heartland Lodge

Hunting lodge and resort in Illinois! Heartland Lodge offers the finest vacation packages for anyone looking for a full service, "six star" resort. From hunting whitetail deer, wild quail, and pheasant to the ultimate bed and breakfast and corporate retreat, you'll find it all at Heartland Lodge.

+1217-734-2526
Nebo
IL
10236 393rd St

55
This was the best hunting experience my group & I has ever had. We felt welcome & at home the moment we arrived. Your guides are great people! Your staff is also amazing! The hunting was excellent as well! January 23-25, 2022

55
This was the first time for us at the lodge. My Dad and I have hunted pheasant and quail before in Iowa and this trip was by far much more enjoyable. Our friend who went but didn't hunt walked with us and enjoyed it so much he may hunt next year. Rod the guide and his dogs were exceptional. I would go back just to talk with Rod and watch his dogs work! All staff was really nice to talk with as well. Already booked for next year. Can't wait to make more memories with my Dad and meet new friends! March 23-27, 2022

55
Good.. no GREAT experience - It was great seeing the same people. Servers/ hostess/ cooks each time. Also great to sit and talk to Gary! I would highly recommend your lodge for hunting or just to get away. Shawn, January 2022

55
Had a wonderful hunt and experience - my new 410 preformed flawlessly - love shotin' 410's. Huntin' with excellent dogs brought back many memories from our home hunts back in the 80's, 90's and early 2000's. We owned several super smart beagles, we always shot 410 single shots. Too much fun! Thanks again! Josh and Terry Nohl,  March 21 -22, 2022.

55
We had a terrific time. It was a true pleasure to hunt with Rod and his dogs. Moreover, Melissa was the ultimate hostess. She, and the entire staff treated us not only like family but cherished kinfolk they were excited to see! I don't know how it could have been any better! Joe Moreland, March 8 -10 2022.

55
Thanks so much!  Meals and Lodging were superior. Kinzi was an awesome guide! Or maybe her dogs were so good that made her look good? (Kidding - she was great!) Thoroughly enjoyed my brief visit. Thank you! Mark 3/10 - 3/11

55
The entire staff was very friendly and accommodating. Food was very good and plentiful at all meals. Our guide Eric and his dogs did a wonderful job. The hunt exceeded our expectations with plenty of opportunity. This was a great experience for our grandson, as this was his first upland hunt. Thank you all for a such a great time. Feb 10-13, 2022

55
My stepson and I had a great time at Heartland Lodge. This was our first time hunting pheasants and we now have a very memorable hunt to look back at. Our guide Brad and his dogs were top notch. The meals were the best and our cabin was outstanding! The staff went above and beyond. We will be recommending Heartland Lodge to all our friends. We would love to come back and add a deer hunt. Heartland Lodge is above 5 stars. You couldn't ask for a better place. February, 2022

55
We came for a business meeting, had overnight accommodations, and went on an upland hunt the following morning. Great space to host a meeting. The Original Lodge was a great place for us all to stay. I was very impressed with the meals that were served. I was also extremely impressed to have a prayer before meals. The upland bird hunt was a lot of fun. Lots of birds, our guide was great, the dogs worked perfect and we had a lot of shooting! Feb 15-16, 2022

55
I hunted here with my 2 son's, and 2 friend's. We hunted 2 weeks before Christmas, and we had the duck/upland combo package. This was the week when the temp was around 70 degrees in Nebo, not ideal for ducks, but we had a great time nonetheless. The accommodations and food are topnotch, and the staff is excellent. Our duck guides Cole and Jeff were very knowledgeable, great callers, and tried their darnedest to get us on birds, but you cant control mother nature. Our upland guide Brad was great also, with excellent dogs, and I think he actually smiled our last day when we killed over 50 birds, and 15 were roosters. (December 2021)

55
"I had been wanting to hunt here for years, but something always got in the way. Not this year, two of my sons and I spent the weekend and did a combo duck/upland hunt. The ducks just weren't flying that morning, but the pheasant/chukar/quail hunt in the afternoon more than made up for it. Our guide, Rod, was terrific, and while we killed a lot of birds, just watching his dogs work would have been worth the trip. The food was great, staff was excellent, I couldn't be happier about the trip." December 2021

55
I come every year with my son, and we make the best memories here. I look forward to the trip every year. The food is always so good and the people we meet are so interesting! Brad is the best guide.  November 16, 2021

55
Everything was exceptional!!

55
Our time was very nice. Food and rooms were outstanding, service and attention to detail excellent. Thank you! My pheasant guides were top notch. Kim is an excellent dog handler and made me comfortable in the field. We had a great hunt. Thank you. Rod, well he was over the top. Very knowledgeable and fun. Again dog work was awesome. He showed me a great level of trust and respect. One of the BEST HUNTS OF MY LIFE! -David Stevenson 9-23-21

55
My long term friend is battling cancer, both guides were exceptional in pace of hunt and attention to circumstances. Not sure how long my buddy will be around. Your guides and crews made this special for all of us!!! Bud Bruley, September 21 - 22, 2021

55
Everyone was exceptional, courteous and friendly. Kim our guide was awesome. Want to have him on every trip. Recommending to all our hunting friends. Robert and Linda Adair, September 21-22, 2021

55
The hunt was perfect for a quick Father/Son getaway! Super accommodations. Expert guide in the field. Our guide (Rod) was very knowledgeable and produced ample opportunities for us to get a coat full of birds. If you are looking for a top notch upland bird hunt...look no further...Heartland Lodge is the place! Jimmy Blunt, September 18th, 2021

55
We had such a wonderful time! We felt like family and very cared for. Now we have new friends to come visit! Hunting was excellent and guides knew their stuff. Dogs were the best we have every seen. Can't wait to come back! Bill and Kathy Wright, September 8-10, 2021

55
Saw and shot more birds than I have in 60yrs of hunting, was really fun shooting birds with my old 410 single shot. Brought back many memories of times gone past, hunting with my Dad and later my son. Hunting with and watching my son shoot brought a tear to my eyes - so enjoyable! My son and I love hunting with good dogs - Rush & Rudy are the best! Kim was the best upland guide I've ever hunted with! Thanks Again! Terry Nohl, March 29-30, 2021.

55
We had a great time upland hunting and have told all our friends and family how much we loved it! Look forward to seeing you again! Chris Wright, Clinton TN, March 9-11 2021,

55
Heartland Lodge is a special place. The accommodations were top notch, the people were fantastic and the hunting was top notch!! Rick Meyer, St Louis MO, Jan 23-24, 2021

55
I can't say enough about Harpole's. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming. Everything was planned and very well organized. The meals were great, the lodging was awesome, and the upland hunting was fantastic! I've hunted and fished from Alaska to Florida and lot of places in-between, and Harpole's is at the top with every aspect. I want to especially mention my guide, Cody. He was VERY professional, very friendly, and took the time to snap a picture when I asked, and did it with a smile. He is a great guide and now a friend! Thanks again Harpole's for a dream hunt come true! Travis Powers - December 11-15th, 2020.

55
I had a great time! My guide and his dogs were outstanding. It was the upland hunting experience I was looking for. Thanks for making it so special. I till return. Gerry Thomas - December 14, 2020

55
Our Guide, Chris Russell, was phenomenal! So friendly, knowledgeable and encouraging. Outstanding dogs. Our guide and dogs really made this a hunt of a lifetime. Dan Morrison - December  11 - 14, 2020

55
This is a top notch establishment from the lodging to the quality of the people employed by Heartland Lodge. Gary, Melissa, Megan and Stephanie were very attentive to our preferences but going beyond the service their conversations with us were truly priceless. Our upland guide "Brad" hunted hard for us. He also adapted to me and my buddies friendly insults at each other with our clean misses in the field. It was like hunting with any other close friend. Jeremy Cantrell, LA, Nov 9-12, 2020

55
This was our 2nd trip for upland hunting. This trip was even better than the 1st! Sunset Valley Lodge was amazing! Great guide and dogs. Even more birds!! If anyone books the double premium hunts and doesn't get a lot of birds, its because they can't shoot! :) Michael Andrus, LA, November 9-12, 2020.

55
It was an awesome upland hunt! Chris our guide was great. He had the dogs adopt to our bird hunting pace. The dogs were a real joy to watch. The room was great. Meals were exceptionally great!!  Robbie Proffitt, TN, November 7th and 8th, 2020

55
I look forward to coming to Heartland Lodge every year with my son. This year was special because both my sons were here. Awesome place to make new memories! Greg Frese October 29-30 2020

55
1st Class All Around - Beautiful Grounds - Fantastic Upland Hunting - Friendly Helpful Staff

55
The lodge accommodations were very good. The hunting was very fun and the overall experience was great. The food for all the meals was just incredible! The best roast beef, gravy & corn casserole I have ever had! The desserts were just amazing! The cinnamon rolls and pancakes were the best I’ve ever has as well! The recreation room was a great after hunt relaxation area. Very well done operation.