Resort Reviews

Submit a Review
Heartland Lodge

Hunting lodge and resort in Illinois! Heartland Lodge offers the finest vacation packages for anyone looking for a full service, "six star" resort. From hunting whitetail deer, wild quail, and pheasant to the ultimate bed and breakfast and corporate retreat, you'll find it all at Heartland Lodge.

+1217-734-2526
Nebo
IL
10236 393rd St

55
Everyone was so friendly. I can not find a word that would cover how fabulous this was. Excellent! September 4-5, 2022

55
This was our 4th visit to Harpole's Heartland Lodge. We have always enjoyed our stay with you tremendously. The food, staff and accommodations are excellent! We are avid ATV riders and have always enjoyed the trails but with the expansion of the new park it makes it even better! Plenty to do even when we are not on the trails. Everything is well thought out. Thanks for a relaxing and wonderful time with the family! August, 2022

55
My now-husband and I were planning a very small wedding ceremony and since I'm originally from Pike County, we decided to rent out the Sunset Valley Lodge for the weekend. It was just perfect! All of the couples had their own bedroom and private bath. The kitchen and dining area were large, which worked well when we grilled out and when we fixed Sunday Breakfast. The main level living room and lower level room allowed everyone to spread out. The game room was a big hit with our adult kids with its pool table, shuffleboard and air hockey. Since the views were so beautiful, we opted to have the ceremony on the main level deck at Sunset. It could have not been more gorgeous! Also, we had Friday dinner and Saturday breakfast at the main lodge. Both meals were hearty and delicious, and the friendly staff made accommodations for our two vegetarian guests. We highly recommend the Sunset Valley Lodge. Our family is already talking about going back so that we can rent ATVs and go horseback riding.

55
We had our second fantastic stay at Harpole's for an anniversary getaway. We booked 2 nights, 2 breakfasts, and two dinners. The staff is simply top-notch!! They are so professional, but make us feel like family. We brought our ATV this trip and enjoy two days out riding. So much land to explore! We enjoyed the scenic views and all of the wildlife. We even were able to watch a turtle laying her eggs. The whirlpool tub felt great after the day out, and we spent lots of time on the porch relaxing, watching the hummingbirds, and just listening to nature all around us. We can't wait to come back!!!

55
We stayed in the Prairie Ridge Lodge for 3 nights the first week of May. The accommodations were first class. We had a great time even though the weather wasn’t the best. The staff are all so accommodating and friendly. We can’t say enough about the food. Excellent food and lots of it!! If you leave hungry it’s your own fault. We are returning the last week of October and first of November for a combo pheasant and archery whitetail hunt. Can’t wait. Would love to visit more often if it wasn’t so far from Texas

55
Myself and my Friends were there for the Girls Weekend. It was absolutely wonderful. It was so relaxing and peaceful. All the staff was so friendly and always smiling. Megan in the dining room was wonderful. The food was delicious. The rooms were so beautiful and very clean. The beds were so so comfortable. Absolutely loved the bed post. Meet some new friends. Loved the hay ride. I could go on and on. It’s just so beautiful and relaxing. Hope some day to return. I highly recommend this place for anything. I’d give it 10 stars! May 2022

55
All the employees are so nice & accommodating. Food is excellent! All the ladies in the dining room are friendly and so sweet. Although I was here on the girls getaway, I'll be returning with my husband. April 29, - May 1st, 2022

55
The entire staff was absolutely fantastic! Friendly, helpful and so sweet. I could not say enough about the service. The food was delicious and there was never a worry about not having enough. Thank you for my first of many visits to Heartland Lodge. April 29 - May 1, 2022

55
The staff was so friendly & went above & beyond to accommodate everyone. The facility & grounds are beautiful! We met so many friendly people. We really did come as strangers but left as friends. April 29 - May 1, 2022

55
Your staff is amazing! Mckenzie & Megan are super sweet. Actually, everyone is. From Jeff the cook to the cleaning staff. Lori, the photographer was great! So glad she took pictures of 4 of us different groups playing cards. We made new friends and will see them next year. April 29 - May 1, 2022 Girls' Getaway Weekend

55
More Girl Getaway Weekends!!! Food was Awesome! Staff was so friendly and helpful! ! I felt so WELCOME!!! Lori the photographer was so nice!! Hayrack ride was awesome!! Kathy with the horses was great!! April 29 - May 1, 2022

55
Unfortunately our stay was not long enough to enjoy all the amenities offered. However we will make full use of them on our return trip. The staff was warm and friendly and willing to accommodate our needs. Both breakfast and dinner service was delicious. Thank you for a wonderful stay. April 9-10, 2022

55
Great place! Felt like home! Great meals!! Sure will try to get there again with my siblings!! March 25-27, 2022

55
We have visited numerous places for our anniversary each year. This, by far, was the most enjoyable, relaxed, and best place we have stayed! Thank you to everyone involved with our stay.  Feb. 2022

55
My husband and I try to get away a couple of days each quarter to read our Bibles, pray, and seek God's will for us for the time ahead of us. As we were planning our retreat in December, 2021, we looked for a lodge within driving distance. We did a search and ran across this amazing website for what seemed a "too good to be true" resort, right here in Illinois. We decided to give it a try and let me say, we have never had such a blessed stay anywhere else! And to think this beauty is right here in our backyard is awesome. Who knew? Let me start by saying that the pictures are exactly what you will see in person, only everything is more expansive than it looks. The land is beautiful, the Sunset Valley Lodge (where we stayed) is exceptionally clean and well managed, and the decorating is perfection! Total serenity here, inside and out. We were blessed to come around Christmas time. There were decorated trees in every room. What a great atmosphere! We stayed in the Sunset View Suite and the sunsets were gorgeous each evening. We went out on the deck and watched the sun go down. A glimpse of the water was just the right touch for a perfect sunset to get your attention and keep it. We watched for well over an hour each evening. We especially loved the workers at the Lodge. They all have such a servant's heart! The cleaning ladies were truly joyful and showed us around the lodge before departing for the day. The office help was great in giving directions and spending time talking with us. The food was delicious--we loved the family-style arrangement. And the bonus was that at every meal a blessing was said, in the name of Jesus. WOW! Just like Heaven-Perfection! There are many opportunities for outdoor fun but, as I said, we were there for a spiritual retreat so we did not take the time to participate in them. Just to relax and observe God's creation in this amazing place was more than we could've expected. We can't say enough about our time at Heartland, except to say we will be back! Thank you Heartland Staff and Owners--you have an incredible gem here. Be blessed! Anita and Ted

55
We were unsure of what to expect, as we are not hunters. We were absolutely floored by the accommodations, cleanliness, the friendly staff, and the stunning views. The weather was unsavory - - but we were warmed and cozy cuddled up inside. We will be staying here anytime visit family nearby. Thank you for being inclusive to all your visitors. We had an amazing stay! Also, a shout-out to your stellar hostess - Stephanie! She was so helpful! January 5-9, 2022

55
We came to have a little get away / reset weekend, it was definitely worth it! The room was perfect, the atmosphere was perfect! We will definitely be returning! We plan to bring our kids and friends! January 14-16, 2022

55
"Our family came to Heartland Lodge to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. Our stay was beyond our expectations. The meals and the meal staff were exceptional! This is a wonderful place to come with children of all ages. We highly recommend it!"

55
Our first visit we stayed at the main lodge absolutely Beautiful And warm Feeling, the details that go into making the guest feel good A big Thank you . The meals were Delicious and beyond. Thank you Cathy for the beautiful romantic horse ride Richard and I really enjoyed it. We will definitely be back. I’m spreading the word amongst friends God Bless you all. Richard & Suzann Bela

55
The lodge and all the areas are well kept, very clean and maintained very well. The room was comfortable and very nicely decorated. The meals were so delicious and very plenteous! We had a very relaxing and peaceful getaway! We will return!! Paul and Debbi Tanksley, June 14-15 2021

55
Everything was fabulous like it has been the last 5 visits! The food is amazing! The employees are so nice, you can tell they love their Jobs. Missed seeing Ms. Wanda. Jerry and Renee Fetsch, St Charles MO, May 24 -26, 2021

55
My husband and I have stayed at the sunset view 3 times. The first two times it was just us the 3rd time we brought friends with and they fell in love with it as much as we did. Its so relaxing, quiet and such a beautiful place, and the homemade food omg I cant even start to describe how delicious it is. Thanks for another great time see you again soon. Patricia Sarabia, April 2021

55
My wife and I along with my brother in law and sister in law stayed at Heartland Lodge the weekend of March 19 and 20th. We absolutely loved our visit! The Sunset Valley Lodge we stayed in was beautiful and clean. We went to ride our side by side and where nicely surprised by the amount of trails and the different types. We had a wonderful and fun weekend and are looking forward to boing back. Bob and Jill Hinch, March 19 & 20, 2021

55
Upon stepping into the cabin, it looked like the cover of Country Living magazine. Your attention to detail does not go unnoticed and is very appreciated! The food was absolutely AMAZING! Our compliments to whoever made that delicious roast beef!! Thanks for a great experience! Carl Hahn, Bonne Terre MO, March 12 - 14, 2021

55
My husband and I had a wonderful experience! The staff makes each guest feel as though they are the only guests that matter. We can't wait to come back. Room was so comfortable. We wish we could have stayed for a month! Catherine and Woodie Stiltner, Joliet IL, Dec 31 - Jan 3 2021

55
October 2nd - 3rd, 2020 - This place is amazing! The cabin was gorgeous. Nothing was cheap as far as furnishings. We loved the motion sensor light and heater in the bathroom. We will definitely be back! Activities (clay shooting) was fun. Staff was very friendly. Kim Barker

55
August 9 -10, 2020 This is my sixth visit and each time I'm impressed with the facilities. The staff is always friendly and professional. The food is delicious and consistently good. Brian Smith - Chicago Heights, IL

55
August 3rd, 2020 - We absolutely enjoyed each and every aspect of our stay! Right up our alley! We plan on an even longer stay with friends in other cabins the next time we plan a stay! Thank you for the hospitality, friendliness and comfort! My girls did not want to leave... Kevin Matzen and Family - Hastings, NE

55
July 27-30, 2020 Amazing place! Spent 4 days there and had a blast!! Trails are crazy fun, lodge is above first class and the food was incredible!!! The staff could not have been friendlier...look forward to going back again. Hard to believe we were in Illinois, what a fabulous place! Yes that is a lot of exclamation points but they deserve it!!!! Clark and Tammy Irwin Carthage Illinois

55
February 14th-16th, 2020--We absolutely loved our weekend getaway at your lodge. The lodge is only 1 1/2 hours away from home, but it felt like we were hours away. All of the staff members were friendly and greeted you with a smile.  Our room was spectacular with everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The breakfasts and dinners were to die for! It truly tasted like I was back in my grandmother's kitchen.